My New Camera Lens!

I am super excited. I was going to purchase my first (non-kit) lens and was saving up for it. I wanted a 70-200mm f/2.8. I preferred to have one with image stabilization. The Sigma brand is cheaper than Canon and for a non-professional, the quality isn’t that different. I decided to get one without IS which I could find for around $750. I was saving for this and while searching on Craigslist, I found someone who was selling their used one for $550. I had that amount already saved up so I got it! Yippee!

So I immediately came home to try it out. I’m very excited to zoom in. I live in the country & I always see hawks and birds that my kit lens never got a good close up of. This worked great. Although I used a high shutter speed, the baby hawks in a nest still came out blurry. I then used a tripod which helped but it wasn’t as clear as I hoped for.

The jury is still out on wether or not I’ll regret the purchase & wished I had purchased the one with IS. We shall see. Tonight I plan to attempt to shoot the moon & stars.

If you want to see the picture of the adult hawk feeding the baby hawks, you can see it on my Facebook photography page. It’s amazing I found this.

FB page is Gayle Raines Photography.

Categories: Photography | Tags: , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “My New Camera Lens!

  1. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message home a bit, but other than that, this is overwhelming blog. An excellent read. I’ll undoubtedly be back.

  2. One thing I’ve noticed with my zoom lens, is that I need to use a much faster shutter speed to get a clear shot. If I zoom all the way in to 300mm, I need to use shutter speed priority, at least 1/800 (but then I might need to bump up my ISO to compensate – unless it’s a bright day). It’s a challenge to learn how to use it, but I’ve gotten some GREAT advice from Bob Zeller on zoom lenses (he’s on my blogroll)!

    • You are right, Holly. At 300mm use the fastest shutter speed possible. I set my Canon 7D at 1/2000 sec and my camera on automatic ISO, then I don’t have to worry. Most of the time I am using my 400mm zoom.

  3. Gayle, you may be right about passing on the IS lens. It definetly helps when shooting wildlife like birds. But use your highest shutter speed you can. If you are able to do so, set your focus points so you are only using one. The center one. Oh, and set your camera for shutter priority.

    Bob

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

